Connect with us


Charleston Music Hall to host “We Are the World” Election Day Concert



The Charleston Music Hall will host “We Are the World – An Election Day Concert” on Tuesday, November 6th at 7:30 pm.

The idea of the show is to have local performers cover a song by each of the artists featured on the 1985 recording of “We Are the World,” the song and charity single originally recorded by the supergroup United Support of Artists (USA) for Africa in 1985. It was written by Michael Jackson and Lionel Richie and produced by Quincy Jones for the album We Are the World. With sales in excess of 20 million copies, it is one of the fewer than 30 all-time physical singles to have sold at least 10 million copies worldwide.

After performing songs by the original artists, the Charleston group will gather at the end of the night to offer their take on “We are the World.” The brain child of Lindsay Holler, the first We Are the World Concert was performed at West Ashley’s Tin Roof in 2013 and then again at The Charleston Pour House in 2014.

In order to encourage people to get out and vote during the midterm election and to promote love and harmony between all humans in these divided times, Holler and the Music Hall team are bringing the show to The Music Hall on election night. Entry to the concert will only be $5 if you wear your “I Voted” sticker, or you can go ahead and reserve your tickets for $12.

The stars of the original “We are the World”

  • Al Jarreau
  • Bob Dylan
  • Billy Joel
  • Bruce Springsteen
  • Cindi Lauper
  • Daryl Hall
  • Diana Ross
  • Dionne Warwick
  • Huey Lewis
  • James Ingram
  • Kenny Loggins
  • Kenny Rogers
  • Kim Carnes
  • Lionel Richie
  • Michael Jackson
  • Paul Simon
  • Ray Charles
  • Steve Perry
  • Stevie Wonder
  • Tina Turner
  • Willie Nelson

The local performers:

  • Aisha Kenyetta
  • Art Perry
  • Bill Carson
  • Brett Nash
  • Charles Carmody
  • Chris Williams
  • Christian Smalls
  • Clare Elich
  • Dan Hanf
  • Dwayne Mitchell
  • Jack Burg
  • Jairus McClanahan
  • Johnny Puke
  • Jordan Igoe
  • Lindsay Holler
  • Matt Williams
  • Mel Washington
  • Robbie Madison
  • Thomas McElwee
  • Tim Davis
  • Zandrina Dunning

The House Band for the evening:

  • Tyler Ross
  • Sam Sfirri
  • George Baerreis
  • Stuart White

Click here for more info.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Show Your "I Voted" Sticker to Get Free Stuff! (2018 Election Day) - Holy City Sinner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Follow Us

Subscribe to HCS




HCS Sponsors



CHS Tour


Holy City Sinner