Connect with us


PowerShares Series Returns to Charleston with Four Former ATP Top 10 Tennis Players



The PowerShares Series, a competitive tennis circuit featuring some of the ATP’s former top-ranked players, makes its way back to Charleston on Saturday, April 7th at 8:30pm at the Volvo Car Stadium. The event includes four champions playing two semifinal matches, with the winners meeting in a final. The format is meant to be entertaining for fans with players calling their own scores and interacting with the crowds.

The 2018 player field will welcome some of the biggest names ever to play the sport.

Charleston’s player field includes:

  • Andy Roddick, former World No. 1 and US Open champion
  • Michael Chang, former World No. 2 and French Open champion
  • Tommy Hass, former World No. 2 and Olympic Silver Medalist
  • Mark Philippoussis, former World No. 8 and two-time Davis Cup champion

Each legend boasts an impressive tennis career spanning several decades.

“The PowerShares Series has been an incredible opportunity for Charleston fans to watch some of the greatest men’s tennis players compete,” said Bob Moran, Volvo Car Open President. “This one-day tournament is another way for us to grow the game of tennis and showcase the entertainment aspect of the sport.”

The PowerShares Series has become an anticipated repeat event at the Volvo Car Stadium with legends like Roddick returning for his third consecutive appearance. Philippoussis won the event in 2017 and is back to defend his title.

Tickets start at $30 for terrace level seating. A limited number of box seats are still available. For more information on the tournament and ticket options, visit call 800.677.2293.

About the PowerShares Series:
The 2018 QQQ Champions Series by Invesco is a competitive tennis circuit featuring legendary tennis icons and world-renowned champions Andre Agassi, Pete Sampras, Andy Roddick, John McEnroe, Jim Courier, Michael Chang, James Blake, Mardy Fish, Marat Safin, Mark Philippoussis, Tommy Haas, and Lleyton Hewitt. Each tournament features 4 Champions paired off in one set semi-finals and culminates with the winners meeting in a one-set championship match.

This is an unedited press release

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Follow Us

Subscribe to HCS




HCS Sponsors



CHS Tour


Holy City Sinner