Connect with us


Slow Food Announces Snail Award Finalists; Winners Picked on Monday



snailSlow Food Charleston recently announced the finalists for their inaugural Snail Awards, which will recognize the community leaders supporting the Slow Food movement. The winners will be announced on Monday at The American Theater.

Here’s a look at this year’s finalists:

  • The Activist: An individual or organization that is a spokesperson or voice for the Slow Food mission
    • Germaine Jenkins, Fresh Future Farm
    • Nikki Seibert, DirtWorks Incubator Farm
    • Charleston County Green Waste Program
  • The Provider: A producer or provider of food at the most basic level
    • Kerry & Mark Marhefka, Abundant Seafood
    • Celeste Albers, Green Grocer
    • Greg Johnsman, Geechie Boy
  • The Artist: An individual or business that is using refined skill with locally, sustainable  ingredients to provide for the community. One winner will be recognized for work with food and another for work with beverage.
    • Blake McCormick, EVO
    • Chris Stewart, Glass Onion
    • Craig Diehl, Cypress/Aritsan Meat Share
  • The Snailblazer: A publicly nominated award for an individual who is making strides in their own field to positively impact the Charleston community. This individual should personify the many aspects of Slow Food’s mission and will be vetted through an application process
    • Chris Wilkins, Roots Baking Company
    • Germaine Jenkins, Fresh Future Farm
    • Nikki Seibert, Lowcountry Local First
    • Kate DeWitt & Lindsey Barrow, Lowcountry Street Grocery
    • Frasier Block & Blue Laughters, Johns Island Farmers Market
    • Dr. Stephanie Zgraggen, Lime and Lotus Healing Center
    • Ann Marshall & Scott Blackwell, High Wire Distilling
  • The Place: A business that adheres to Slow Food principles in terms of its business practices and philosophies
    • Wild Olive/The Obstinate Daughter
    • Grow Food Carolina
    • Neighborhood Dining Group
  • Beverage
    • High Wire Distilling
    • COAST Brewing
    • Cannonborough Beverage Company

    There is also an award for The Legend which will be presented to Chef Mike Lata of FIG and The Ordinary. He was one of the original founders of the Slow Food Charleston chapter and is a local foodways advocate. Lata will also serve as the Master of Ceremonies for the event.

    Finalists and winners were chosen by a panel of judges including:
    • Dr. David Shields, University of South Carolina, Slow Food Southeast Ark of Taste Committee Chair
    • Stephanie Burt, The Southern Fork
    • Jed Portman, Garden & Gun
    • Patricia Agnew, Culinary Institute of Charleston
    • Vanessa Driscoll Bialobreski, Farm to Table Event Co,
    • Caitlin Etherton, Community activist
    • Mike Lata, FIG/The Ordinary

    Immediately following the ceremony, there is a reception featuring dishes by chefs Kevin Mitchell of the Culinary Institute of Charleston, Nico Romo of FISH, Lauren Mitterer of WildFlour, Jacques Larson of Wild Olive & The Obstinate Daughter, and John Fleer of Rhubarb in Asheville, North Carolina.

    Tickets can be purchased at

    Click to comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Follow Us

    Subscribe to HCS




    HCS Sponsors



    CHS Tour


    Holy City Sinner